I got a restraining order against my COVID-denying next-door neighbor.

I am significantly immune-compromised and was just forced to go through this process to ensure my safety.

Sheri Byrne-Haber, CPACC
5 min readJan 5, 2021

--

Desk with judges gavel and paperwork, judge filling out paperwork with pen

Authors note: Because of Medium’s refusal to address its accessibility issues for both authors and readers, I’ve moved my last three years of blogs to Substack. Please sign up there for notices of all new articles. Also, I will be updating older articles (like this one) and the updates will only be published on Substack. Thank you for your continued readership and support.

I will call my assailant, “Mr. Covid.” His actions had already generated two separate police calls (from others) for assault in the previous three months. My situation was a little more subtle.

People frequently refer to “assault and battery” as if it were a single thing. But they are two different things, though close cousins. While assaults attempt to cause bodily harm, a battery is the act following through on the threatened assault. Assault is defined in California as:

“an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another.”

In most states, there are various categories of assault, all of which carry different penalties, including…

--

--

Sheri Byrne-Haber, CPACC

LinkedIn Top Voice for Social Impact 2022. UX Collective Author of the Year 2020. Disability Inclusion SME. Sr Staff Accessibility Architect @ VMware.